Breakups, Ladybugs, and Nosy Friends

Oh hello there, I am happy to report that I am not dead, I am just horrific at updating this. When we last spoke, I was trying to sort things out with The Psychologist after a little bit of a rough patch. Turns out, the rough patch won, and sometime in early December I sent him an email ending things. You know what’s funny? When you’re in it, breaking up seems like the end of the world (how are you going to live without that person? Will anyone like you again?) but getting past it is always way less difficult (at least for me) than one would imagine.  So, I sent the email, drove home for a few days, and moved on with my life. Also somewhere in all of that, I decided to grab drinks and make out with my ex boyfriend the premature ejaculator.

It took me one month and twenty four days to move on. Well, more accurately, it took me three days to move on, but a little less than two months to find myself in a new ‘situation’. I haven’t shared much about my friends out here, but the young professional circle is a pretty tight one, and borderline ancestral. Back when I was dating NAVY boy, during my first few weeks out here, I met a guy who we will refer to as RH. I remember thinking to myself that he was cute, but kind of a jerk because he didn’t really talk to me or my boyfriend. Turns out he was just shy.

In the time that I’ve known RH (1.5 years now), I have seen him unsuccessfully date 3 women. He has come to me for advice on ladies to pursue, and has shared with me how he was looking for a relationship. I have also heard from our friend network stories about people he’s dated and personal aspects of his life that he probably wouldn’t want others sharing. Even though I thought he was cute, I also knew better than to make any moves there; that is, until Valentine’s Day.

This year I hosted a Valentines Day singles party, and it was a blast. Everyone brought valentines and little boxes just like grade school; except alcohol was involved. I had confided in a friend that I thought RH might be someone I was interested in, and she pulled me aside during the party to ask if I had seen that he made me a special valentine (I have food allergies, and he made one that I wasn’t allergic to) or if I had realized that he brought my dog valentine too (swoon). The more I drank, the better idea all of this seemed to be. Much of this has been pieced together for me since that night, but apparently I told my best friend I wanted to make out with RH or some other guy (who liked guys too), and he got RH and I to go upstairs and play him in vodka pong. That is my last coherent memory of the evening.

I remember making RH drink the last cup of vodka. Then I remember being downstairs and someone (him?) drawing on my wall with sharpie. Next I remember participating in a very serious debate with him about how lady bugs are actually beetles, and then insisting that he come upstairs to my bedroom so I could show him the dead lady bug on my lightbulb. Next thing I know, we are in my bed and making out. Finally, I remember him leaving (to throw up, lol) and friends knocking on my door to let me know that my ceiling downstairs was leaking because my upstairs toilet had flooded. Did I mention how drunk I was?

Anyways, everything resolved itself and I went to bed. When I woke up the next morning, he was still beside me. We kissed a bit more, and he let me know that he was sober, and still felt the same way (positively) about what occurred. I got up to do some recon on my house and let him sleep/recover. A friend came over to help clean up after the party, and saw him still over (ugh), and then we headed out and I drove him home. At the time, I remember being pretty embarrassed and feeling incredibly awkward. He was a good friend – did I ruin that friendship? Was he going to expect this to happen again any time we were drinking? Do all of our friends know? Later that weekend I got a text, “Clearly at some point we should talk – and I would really like to make up for the mess I made in your bathroom. Dinner sometime this week?”

[To be continued in next post]

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment